Monday, 31 March 2008

MDC and ZANU PF equal at 19:19 - second government minister loses seat

The latest official parliamentary election results announced by Zimbabwe's electoral commission show that the ruling ZANU-PF have 19 seats and the Opposition MDC also have 19.

A total of 210 constituencies are being contested. No official results have been published yet from the presidential election.

Public Affairs Minister Chen Chimutengwende is the second government minister to lose their seat.

First results announced in Zimbabawe: Justice Minister loses seat

Results for the 4 concurrent elections that were held in Zimbabwe on Saturday are now starting to be released in Harare by the electoral commission. With the release of the first results only there's a long way to go but they suggest its going to be a close run thing.

The election results pages of the official Simba Makoni, MDC, and Government of Zimbabwe www sites are yet to release their first statement of the results. Meanwhile, Reuters and others have been filling the gaps.
HARARE, March 31 (Reuters)

08:59 GMT
Zimbabwe's opposition MDC and ruling ZANU-PF were running neck-and-neck, according to the first election results issued by the Electoral Commission on Monday. The commission started announcing the results from Saturday's election shortly before 7 a.m. (0500 GMT) after a long delay prompted the opposition to accuse President Robert Mugabe of trying to rig the vote to stay in power. The first six parliamentary constituencies were evenly split between Mugabe's ZANU-PF and Morgan Tsvangirai's Movement for Democratic Change (MDC), said the commission.

09:45 GMT
Justice Minister Patrick Chinamasa lost his seat in Zimbabwe's election as latest official results on Monday showed the ruling ZANU-PF and opposition MDC running neck-and-neck. The electoral commission said each party had won 12 parliamentary constituencies out of a total 210 seats. No official results were yet available in the presidential poll, in which Robert Mugabe faces the strongest challenge to his 28-year rule.